Skills Development Planning

Overview and Functions of SDP Division

The Skills Development Planning (SDP) Division is divided into three sub-divisions, namely:

  • Learning Programmes
  • Workplace Skills Planning
  • Projects

The SDP Division’s core mandate is to co-ordinate support by encouraging constituent registered employers to submit mandatory grant reports (workplace skills plans and implementation reports). These are required by Skills Development Act and Skills Development Levies act.


Targets set out for the division in addressing skills needs within the Health and Social development sector:

  • To register and implement learning programmes (Learnerships, Skills Programmes, Internships and Bursaries);
  • To administer the submission of Workplace Skills Plans and Implementation Reports (WSPIRs);
  • To support / facilitate the implementation of the National Skills Development Strategy;
  • To capacitate Skills Development Facilitators (SDFs) in driving the NSDS;
  • Assist stakeholders with any skills development/ HWSETA related processes.


  • Receiving, capturing and approving Workplace Skills Plans and Implementation Reports.
  • Implementing training of sector specialists / SDFs on the Sector Guide.
  • Administering Change of SETA Jurisdiction applications.
  • Funding the training of learners on the New Venture Creation qualification, and exploring opportunities to support the establishment of enterprises for them.
  • Funding the placement of learners to gain Work Experience. This could be through directly approaching employers or by formalising agreements with Further and Higher Education Institutions for the purposes of learner placement.
  • Receiving and approving Expression of Interest applications.
  • Issuing of proof of registration and completion of learners (necessary for those employers who qualify to receive the Tax Rebate).