COVID-19 Hotline: 0800 029 999

The Board’s role is to provide leadership, direction, and stewardship of the organisation’s assets and interests in relation to the public funds it administers to promote public interest in skills development within the Health and Social Development (welfare) sectors.

The Board is constituted of 15 Board members representing the following constituencies and stakeholders in the sectors served by the HWSETA:

  • Independent Chairperson (Ministerial appointee)
  • Organised Labour
  • Organised Employers, including small businesses and relevant government departments
  • Levy exempt sector
  • Any interested professional body or bargaining council with jurisdiction in the sector, which the DHET Minister considers appropriate for the sector

It meets every quarter, or as required, to enable it to assert its governance responsibility as the Accounting Authority and as the employer of all HWSETA staff.

Board Chairperson

Dr Nomsa Mnisi

Representing Employer

Dr Nonhlanhla Makhanya
National Department of Health

Mr Rudie van Loggerenberg
National Department of Social Development

Dr Katlego Mothudi
Board of Healthcare Funders

Dr Nceba Ndzwayiba
Hospital Association of South Africa

Dr Lillian Marutle
Organized Employers

Dr Sipho Kebane
Council for Medical Schemes

Representing Labour

Ms Lungile Duma
National Union of Public Service and Allied Workers

Ms Tselane Mbotshane
Health & Other Services Personnel Trade Union of South Africa

Public Servants Association of South Africa

Mr Khaya Sodidi
Democratic Nursing Organisation of South Africa 

Mr Sidney Kgara
National Education, Health and Allied Workers’ Union

Ms Nobukhosi Xulu
National Education, Health and Allied Workers’ Union

Representing Non Profit Organizations and Mental Health

Ms Lalita Harie

Representing People with Disabilities

Ms Bongiwe Malope

Comments are closed.